Lamentations for the Sea

Deepest cold and eternal night, I mourn for you.
Marianas Trench, I mourn for you.

Bering Straight, I mourn for you.
Sedna, I mourn for you.
Broken goddess, furious maiden I mourn for you.
Betrayed by man, I mourn for you.
Giver of fishes, I mourn for you.
Mother of the hunt, I mourn for you.
Northern Passage, I mourn for you.
Blanketed by oil, I mourn for you.

Mid-Atlantic Ridge, I mourn for you.
Blue Whale, I mourn for you.
Breaking wave, I mourn for you.

Who birthed Aphrodite, I mourn for you.
White foam on a silvery shore, I mourn for you.
Beloved of surfers, I mourn for you.
Receiver of baby turtles, I mourn for you.
Encircling currents, I mourn for you.
Carrier of refuse to desolate shores, I mourn for you.
Dying Great Barrier Reef, I mourn for you.
Nurturer of the Albatross, I mourn for you.
Incoming tide, I mourn for you.

Neptune, Poseidon, I mourn for you.
Bringer of Hurricanes, I mourn for you.

Protector of sailors, I mourn for you.
Creator of Climate, I mourn for you.
Hider of treasure, I mourn for you.
Exploited for dwindling resources, I mourn for you.
Blood of the Earth, I mourn for you.
Tropical seas, I mourn for you.
La Sirene, Met Agwe, I mourn for you.

Mother of mermaids and manatees, I mourn for you.
Song of the sea, I mourn for you.

Patron of ocean travelers, I mourn for you.
You who ferry the dead, I mourn for you.
Pawn of nations-at-conflict, I mourn for you.
Toxic soup, I mourn for you.
Arctic Ice, I mourn for you.
Ross Ice Shelf, I mourn for you.
The unexplored, I mourn for you.
Ebb tide, I mourn for you.

You who have been called Tethys, Thetis, Thalassa, Tiamat,
Oceanus, Posideon, Neptune, the Old Man of the Sea,
50 daughers of Nereus Nereids, Repun Kamui, Lir,
Mazu, Gods of the Four Seas, Dakuwaqa, Vedenemo, Ahti, and Vellamo,
Kanaloa, Namaka, Varuna, Susanoo, Namu, Sirsir, Olokun–
I adore you.
Our human greed is killing you.
I mourn for you.

About thalassa

Occasionally doting wife, damn proud momma of two adorable children, veteran of the United States Navy, semi-steampunk bohemian beach addict from middle America, Civil War reenactor and Victorian natural history aficionado, canoeing and kayaking and paddleboarding fanatic, Unitarian Universalist and pantheistic Pagan, devotee of various aquatic deities, and practitioner of bioregional witchery View all posts by thalassa

One response to “Lamentations for the Sea

  • ibgreenie3

    This is a litany to those Gods & Goddesses of the Oceans, in reparation for man’s greed and
    thirst for power. May they not punish the innocent for the crimes of the guilty. Receive this lamentation
    from all your true children.

    Like

Share your thoughts...

