blue girl

Psamathe is a goddess of the beach.  She is one of fifty daughters to Nereus and the Oceanid nymph, Doris.   Her name literally means sand-goddess, and she was the mother of Eidothea and Theoklymenos with her husband Proteus, and of Phokos, whose father was the mortal Aiakos.  My children call her “the blue girl” and says that she is a daughter of the Ocean (or, to them, Mama O’shen).

in this my blue world
the wind waves are my hair
the sand mud are my toes
squishing up into waving seaweed

in this my blue world
the fishes crabs oysters are my hands
the sea spray is my voice
singing into the sky

in this my blue world
I will hold you to my bosom
rock your soul clean
until it shines like my sister moon’s
soul-reflection

in this my blue world
my water blood pumps
the heart soul
of the space marble

may you never thirst at my door
may you never hunger at my table

I am the blue girl
my hearth is your shore

blue upon blue

upon blue

until the end of me

of you

Space Maid by Josephine Wall

About thalassa

Occasionally doting wife, damn proud momma of two adorable children, veteran of the United States Navy, semi-steampunk bohemian beach addict from middle America, Civil War reenactor and Victorian natural history aficionado, canoeing and kayaking and paddleboarding fanatic, Unitarian Universalist and pantheistic Pagan, devotee of various aquatic deities, and practitioner of bioregional witchery View all posts by thalassa

Share your thoughts...

