for finding affection

Tezcatepec
nenamicoyan
nicihuanotza
nicihuacuica
nonnentlamati
nihualnentlamati

ye noconhuica
in nohueltiuth
in Xochiquetzal
Ce-Coatl ica
apantihuitz
Ce-Coatl ica
cuitlalpitihuitz
tzonilpitihuitz

ye yalhua
ye huiptla
ica nichoca
ica ninentlamati

ca mach nelli teotl
ca mach nelli mahuiztic

cuix quin moztla
cuix quin huiptla

niman aman

nomatca nehuatl
niTelpochtli
niYaotl

no nitonac
no nitlathuic

cuix zan cana onihualla
cuix zan cana onihualquiz
ompa onihualla
ompa onihualquiz…

ca mach nelli teotl
ca mach nelli mahuiztic

cuix quin moztla
cuix quin huiptla
niquittaz

niman aman

nomatca nehuatl
niTelpochtli
niYaotl

cuix nelli niYaotl?
ahmo nelli niYaotl
zan niCihuayotl

(translation)

on Mirror Mountain
the place of encounters
I call for a woman
I sing out for her
crying up
crying down

already at my side
my elder sister
Xochiquetzal
with One Serpent
as her mantle
with One Serpent
as her belt
as ribbon in her hair

yesterday
the day before
I wept
I cried

she is a true goddess
she is a true power

tomorrow?
the day after?

right now!

I myself
I, the Youth
I, the Warrior

I sunshine
I dawn

risen from nowhere?
born from nowhere?
I have risen, I was born
of a woman’s flower…

she is a true goddess
she is a true power

will I find her
tomorrow?
the day after?

right now!

I myself
I, the Youth
I, the Warrior

am I truly war-like?
I am not truly at war–
I’m of a woman’s womb

~~from Ruiz de Alarcón’s Tratado de las supersticiones y costumbres gentílicas que oy viven entre los indios naturales desta Nueva Espana (Treatise on the Superstitions and Customs of the Natives of New Spain)–a poem to Xochiquetzal (Flower-Plume), an Aztec love goddess. The Aztecs had great tradition of poetry and philosophy, much of which has been lost.

About thalassa

Occasionally doting wife, damn proud momma of two adorable children, veteran of the United States Navy, semi-steampunk bohemian beach addict from middle America, Civil War reenactor and Victorian natural history aficionado, canoeing and kayaking and paddleboarding fanatic, Unitarian Universalist and pantheistic Pagan, devotee of various aquatic deities, and practitioner of bioregional witchery View all posts by thalassa

Share your thoughts...

