Fall Morning Prayer

The Littlest Druid

I sit in a cathedral of trees and ask the blessing of all living things surrounding me.
Watch over me from morning’s first light until the dark of night. Watch over me from twilight’s purple cloak until the pink of dawn’s graceful dance.

I ask the protection of nine sights and sounds from my chair:
Of the call of the acorn woodpecker
To the upside down hunt of a nuthatch
To the flip of the grey squirrel’s plush tail
To the delicate walk of a doe and her fawn
From the complaint of the Stellar’s jay
From the flight of the mourning cloak butterfly
From the call of the winds singing in the pines
From the buzz of the gnat in my ear
From the dance of the incense cedar before me.
I ask the protection of the forest and the open eyes and ears to learn the lessons of…

View original post 2 more words

About thalassa

Occasionally doting wife, damn proud momma of two adorable children, veteran of the United States Navy, semi-steampunk bohemian beach addict from middle America, Civil War reenactor and Victorian natural history aficionado, canoeing and kayaking and paddleboarding fanatic, Unitarian Universalist and pantheistic Pagan, devotee of various aquatic deities, and practitioner of bioregional witchery View all posts by thalassa

Share your thoughts...

