I’ve been blogging the Delphic Maxims on Mondays…and figured that makes a good post to share, since they are mostly all something good to ponder as a devotional.

bay witch musings

The Hubby and I have a family motto: Take what you can get and be content with what you have while you work for what you want.  It sounds sort of Delphic, if you don’t mind my saying so.  Especially in light of  Delphic Maxim #73: Be happy with what you have (Κτωμενος ηδου).

What I have:
A pretty fantastic husband that loves me (and whom I love). Two healthy, beautiful, and bright children. Relatively good health. A roof over my head, which is mostly furnished. Food in my pantry. Employment for myself and my spouse. Good neighbors. Friends and family that give a damn. Clothing to wear, books to read, a beach to swim at. Most of the conveniences of modern life–electricity, indoor plumbing, personal transportation. The ability to vote, an education, freedom of religion, health insurance, a car to drive. Money in the bank to pay most of the…

View original post 755 more words

About thalassa

Occasionally doting wife, damn proud momma of two adorable children, veteran of the United States Navy, semi-steampunk bohemian beach addict from middle America, Civil War reenactor and Victorian natural history aficionado, canoeing and kayaking and paddleboarding fanatic, Unitarian Universalist and pantheistic Pagan, devotee of various aquatic deities, and practitioner of bioregional witchery View all posts by thalassa

Share your thoughts...

