Fourth of July Around the Web

This is my song, O God of all the nations
A song of peace for lands afar and mine
This is my home, the country where my heart is;
Here are my hopes, my dreams, my holy shrine;
But other hearts in other lands are beating
With hopes and dreams as true and high as mine.
My country’s skies are bluer than the ocean,
And sunlight beams on cloverleaf and pine;
But other lands have sunlight too, and clover,
And skies are everywhere as blue as mine.
O hear my song, thou God of all the nations,
A song of peace for their land and for mine.

From the Unitarian Universalist Hymnal, Singing the Living Tradition, Hymn# 159 “This is my song”, which is set to part of Jean Sibelius’s Finlandia (it starts at the 5:30 mark).

Around the Web
A Prayer for the 4th
July Pagan Holidays from Confessions of a Kitchen Witch
A Prayer to Liberty
Hail Columbia, the first (albeit unofficial) National Anthem
American Avatars (an blog post of mine from last year
Loving Where You Live: America, For Better or Worse (My blog post for the 4th this year)

About thalassa

Occasionally doting wife, damn proud momma of two adorable children, veteran of the United States Navy, semi-steampunk bohemian beach addict from middle America, Civil War reenactor and Victorian natural history aficionado, canoeing and kayaking and paddleboarding fanatic, Unitarian Universalist and pantheistic Pagan, devotee of various aquatic deities, and practitioner of bioregional witchery View all posts by thalassa

Share your thoughts...

